भाकृअनुप -केन्द्रीय आलू अनुसंधान संस्थान,शिमला 

     ICAR-Central Potato Research Institute,Shimla

CPRS Gwalior

CPRS, Gwalior

Central Potato Research Station, Gwalior (MP)


Central Potato Research Institute Regional Station Gwalior, Madhya pradesh is located in the Central Plains of India. It had the largest farm area of 171.49 ha and is primarily engaged in breeder’s seed production. Out of total farm area  114.22 ha area is under cultivation. This station caters breeder  seed requirement of Chhattisgarh , Punjab , Jammu & Kashmir, West Bengal , Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh About 5000q nuclens & breeder seed is produced every year. Potato research is carried out in three major disiplines under different programmes for plateaus and hill region of the country. Besides research and seed production programme of potato, this Station also serves as one of the centres of All India Co-ordinated Research Project on Potato Gram seed production is also taken up in the rotational areas for National Seeds Corporation Ltd / MP Rajya beej vikash Nigam , Gwalior Research work is being carried out by 3 scientists in three disciplines. They are supported by 10 technical and 4 supporting staff. Besides, there are two administrative personnel headed by one Assistant The small laboratory is well equipped for seed testing against potato viruses.


The history of the station has links with the establishment of Potato seed Production Station in 1979  at Morena, MP Subsequently due to shortage of land for seed production, Station was Shifted to Gwalior in 1981. As Per climatic Condition and location, Gwalior is the best location for production of high quality breeder seed production in the country. It is Situated at 7 KM from Gwalior railway Station on north side on Gwalior – Itawah road (NH-92). The Latitude and Longitude of the Station are 260 13’N and 780 4’E respectively. It altitude is 208 meter above Mean Sea Level (amsl). The Station is also having a small Guest House .

Since its inception, this regional station has been provide the dynamic leadership by eminent scientists from time to time. They are:

Name Period
Sh. S.S. Saini October 1978 – September 1983
Dr. Chokhe Singh September 1983 – July 1986
Sh. S.G. Phadtare July 1986 – May 1992
Dr. V.S. Kushwah May 1992 – July 2009
Dr. A.K. Somani July 2009 – September 2012
Dr. S.P. Singh September 2012 – July 2013
Dr. Satyajit Roy July 2013 – August 2018
Dr. S.P. Singh September 2018

Dr. S.P. Singh , Head

Telephone : 0751-2470302 , (O) 9425115453 (M) 0751-4075033 (R)

Fax : 0751-2471967 (O)

S.No. Name Designation Discipline Contact Number Email ID
1 Dr Shiv Pratap Singh Head & Principal  Scientist  Agronomy +91-9425115453  drshivpratapsingh@yahoo.co.in
2 Dr Subhash Katare  Sr. Scientist  8295398955  Dwr.katare@gmail.com
3 Dr Murlidhar J Sadawarti Scientist (Sr. Scale)  9179343515  murlidharsada@gmail.com
Administrative staff
1 Sr. Surender Singh Assistant  7999885445 Surendersingh.cpri@gmail.com
Technical staff
1 Dr. Sanjay Kumar  Sharma Sr. Technical officer  9425112228  sksharmacprs@gmail.com
2 Sh. Yogendra Pal Singh Sr. Technical officer  9425112178  ypsingh11@gmail.com
3 Sr. Rajendra Kumar Samadhiya Sr.Technical officer  9589009758  rajendracprs@gmail.com
4 Sh. Shyam Kumar Gupta Sr.Technical officer  9589323380  Skgupta.cprs@gmail.com